Oh, the Places I’ll Go

WordPress.com has informed me that this is my thirty-third post since joining the blog world two years ago. I find this particularly awesome because the number thirty-three has been my lucky number since I was a kid. So as befits a potentially lucky post, I thought I’d seize this opportunity to share with you my upcoming travel plans, a subject that I’ve been unbelievably stoked about over the past couple of weeks. Can’t think of a better way to make my thirty-third blog post special 🙂

Morocco, 23 March through 1 April

Agadir map

I am thrilled to report that as of this Saturday, I will get to add not just another country, but another continent to the list of places I’ve been. I fly from Málaga, Spain to Casablanca, Morocco to meet a couple family members, and from there we will spend nine days on a self-guided tour through the cities of Essaouira, Marrakech, Fes, and Chefchaouen. I am beyond excited and so grateful to get to explore this intriguing country with my family. It will surely be a spring break to remember.

Canary Islands, 5 through 8 April

Canary_Islands

Less than a week after returning from Morocco, I’ll be off to the island of Tenerife in the Canary Islands for a weekend with two fellow Pacific Northwesterners. We found an INCREDIBLE deal on a flight from Sevilla with Ryanair, and so for both flights plus the buses to and from Sevilla, our transportation cost per person is less than 75 euro. Check out some of the unbelievable photos of the island on the following site:

http://www.turismodecanarias.com/islas-canarias-espana/oficina-turismo/isla-de-tenerife/

Here's a beach in a Tenerife town called El Médano. Our hotel is just offshore :)

Here’s a beach in a Tenerife town, El Médano. Our hostel is just offshore 🙂

Our hostel, the Casa Grande Surf Hostel, also offers classes in surfing, horseback-riding, hiking, and snorkeling…talk about a weekend in paradise. Check out the hostel’s website at:

http://www.casagrandehostel.com/index.php/en/

I don’t have any other travel plans set in stone yet, but the next destinations on my wishlist Lisbon, Portugal and Brussels, Belgium. I’m hoping to take a weekend trip to Lisbon in April, if everything comes together, and to Brussels in May with a brief jaunt in Paris, France to visit two of my dearest friends who are studying there. Crossing my fingers I can make these trips happen!

Got the travel bug like me?

Check out these amazing travel websites I’ve been obsessed with lately:

Adventurous Kate – at the suggestion of one of my closest friends back home, I’ve had this blog bookmarked for at least a year now, but recently I’ve been reading as many of her posts as I can. Her writing is entertaining, her posts are extremely thoughtful and informative, and she shares both incredible photos of the places she’s been along with awesome travel advice.

http://www.adventurouskate.com

Budget Traveller – and at the suggestion of one of Adventurous Kate’s blog posts, I’ve added this site to my “Blogs” bookmarks. I haven’t gotten the chance to read very many of his entries, but I really like the set-up of his site and he’s got some really great reviews of some of the best hostels in Europe. For example, there are a couple awesome-looking hostels in Lisbon that he’s posted such detailed and positive reviews of, that I’m for sure going to book one of them once my trip plans to Lisbon come to fruition. Can’t wait to read more about his travels!

http://budgettraveller.org

And of course my travel planning wouldn’t be possible without the help of the following:

Lonely Planet – I prefer flipping through the actual guidebooks by hand, but obviously you can’t buy a guidebook for every city and country on your wishlist, so that’s why I use this site as as starting point to garner some basic understanding about the various countries I want to visit. The entries aren’t as detailed as the ones in the guidebooks in print, but they’re just enough to get me going 🙂

http://www.lonelyplanet.com

Kayak and Skyscanner – want to find the cheapest flights? These sites are the most reliable I’ve discovered so far, and as of late I’ve been checking them almost every day to see if flight prices to places on my wishlist have gone down.

http://www.kayak.com

http://www.skyscanner.com

Hostelworld – prices, ratings, reviews, photos, and more. All you need to know about the best and most affordable hostels in Europe.

http://www.hostelworld.com

When all is said and done, if my overflowing enthusiasm for travel doesn’t resonate with you, surely some excerpts from Dr. Seuss’ famous poem will:

Congratulations!

Today is your day!

You’re off to great places.

You’re off and away!

You have brains in your head.

You have feet in your shoes.

You can steer yourself

Any direction you choose!

You’ll get mixed up, of course,

As you already know.

You’ll get mixed up

With many strange birds as you go.

So be sure where you step.

Step with care and great tact

And remember that life’s

A great balancing act.

And will you succeed?

Yes! You will indeed.

(98 and 3/4 percent guaranteed!)

Kid, you’ll move mountains!

So…

Be your name Buxbaum or Bixby or Bray

Or Mordecai Ali Van Allen O’Shea,

You’re off to great places!

Today is your day!

Your mountain is waiting.

So…get on your way!

Take it from me, take it from Dr. Seuss, or take it from professional travel blogger Kate McCulley as she puts it in the following post: http://www.adventurouskate.com/yes-you-will-travel-this-year-heres-how/

Long story short: if you want to go, just go. If you want to travel the world, you can make it happen.

While it’s certainly easier for me, and my other friends who are currently studying and living abroad in Europe, to make it happen, you still can too. Sometimes all we need is a little encouragement.

So come on, the world’s waiting. Get on your way.

2 thoughts on “Oh, the Places I’ll Go

Leave a Reply

