Ronda: Another Pro-HDR Paradise

IMG_6971

Ronda is without a doubt one of the most picturesque places I’ve ever been.

And, in my case, a beautiful (read: ridiculously stunning) town makes for a golden opportunity to take pictures (read: loads of them) with the iPhone Pro HDR app, an obsession with which I’ve been developing since my trip to Morocco.

And apparently, my obsession has been paying off: I’ve been receiving some positive feedback from family and friends about the improvement in the quality of my photos, for which I am extremely grateful.

However, in Ronda’s case, it doesn’t take a professional photographer to capture this town’s unmistakable beauty.

IMG_6825

All it took for me was my iPhone, the Pro HDR app, and (what I perceived to be) great natural lighting.

IMG_6828

So, while I’m grateful for and welcome further feedback on my photos (as well as my recent blog posts!), I’m no photographer. I’ve just recently been lucky to come upon some seriously breathtaking sites.

Like the the gorge you can access by descending the mines attached the Casa del Rey Moro (house of the Moorish king), which were used in wartime during the 14th- and 15th-century as a means of obtaining water from the Río Guadalevín when the water supply elsewhere was threatened.

IMG_6881

It’s approximately 300 steep, slippery, and shadowed steps to get down there, but this particular view of the gorge is remarkable.

Huff-and-puff back up those stairs, and you’ll find a lovely view of the city from the gardens also pertaining to the Casa del Rey Moro.

IMG_6891

A short walk down from the Casa del Rey Moro is the Puerta de Felipe, or the gate of Philip V, built after the Reyes Católicos retook the Arab-dominated Andalucía.

IMG_6903

And it was on that same street that I happened upon what I shall deem a scene of the medieval-meets-modern beneath a gorgeous, purple-ish tree:

IMG_6904

Meander under the Puerta de Felipe and you’ll reach the Puente Viejo, also impressive albeit a heck of a lot smaller and lower than the Puente Nuevo (featured in the first photo of this blog post):

IMG_6909

At some point, you’ll likely stumble upon another one of my favourite subjects as of late, a polychromed, cobblestoned street in one of Ronda’s residential neighborhoods:

IMG_6944

And if you venture further out to the old city walls, you’ll find this lesser-known view of the city, in this particular shot with the dark cloud signifying the impending torrential downpour we would experience minutes later.

IMG_6993

Ronda, while it would certainly be a pleasure to return and explore further, can be done in a day. Our spontaneous day-trip there, despite the moderately pricey train ticket (31 euro), was an absolute success…up until the sudden but short-lived downpour that drenched us in our tracks.

And it’s places like Ronda that remind me just how important and valuable it is to bring a camera and capture some of the many incredible historical sites and vistas Spain and the rest of Europe have to offer.

Memory is a powerful and for the most part reliable tool, but being able to literally hold a memory in your hand in the form of a photograph is a true treasure.

Leave a Reply

